So, as I said, I’d been thinking about starting a blog. One of my biggest hangups was coming up with the name – it’s why I didn’t do this about a week ago! I wanted something that encompassed my Christian beliefs, would allow me to show off my crochet/crafty stuff, and also would allow the sharing of my thoughts on homesteading/natural building/living sustainably and self-sufficiently and my steps to get there.

I’d been debating several things, praying for God to give me just the right idea, but my breakthrough came Thursday afternoon 😀 I was thinking about ways to update my Facebook status after packing and cleaning all morning; I had one hour of free time before going to get my son from school and then we would start a long weekend with his other grandparents/relatives 3 hrs away. As I was loading the suitcase in the truck, I was thinking about how I was going to enjoy my “pursuit of craftiness” before getting Teddy from school. And that’s when I had my “Ahah!” moment!

“Pursuit of craftiness” led me to the wonderful statement from our country’s Founding Father’s – “Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Happiness,” and the fun I could have with some word play. (BTW, in case you’re a friend of mine on Facebook, you won’t remember a status update to this effect because I decided it would be wiser to use my hour to take a nap! ;-))

Over the weekend, I quickly decided that “Pursuing Life” would be the blog title, but it took me longer to come up with the points/pages/main themes. I knew, obviously, that “The Pursuit of Craftiness” was a given for all my hobby adventures. I was also pretty sure that I was going to use “Liberty” as the place to blog about my dream for natural building, sustainable and self-sufficient living, even though my efforts will start out as small as gardening. But how was I going to work in my Christian beliefs? And any mom-type stuff? I thought and prayed about that over the weekend as we enjoyed a wonderful visit…

And then I remembered the wonderful words spoken by Jesus, “I have come that they may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly,” found in the book of John 10:10b (copied/pasted from BibleGateway – LOVE that website!) – I knew right away that “A Life More Abundant” would be the name of the portion of the blog where I discuss my beliefs. But I still hadn’t figured out how to work in the whole Mom bit.  It wasn’t until I was actually in the process of creating this blog that I realized, “Wait a minute – if it weren’t for God blessing me, I wouldn’t BE a mother! ‘A Life More Abundant’ is the PERFECT spot for Mom stuff to go, too!”  Especially since a lot of the stuff God works with on to bring me to be a better person, the Beth HE wants me to be either makes me a better Mom in the end or is about being a better Mom….

So, that’s how I named my blog 🙂 I’m at a point in my life where “Pursuing Life” is what I need to be doing, and since I decided it needed documenting, y’all get to read about it! Hope you enjoy – God bless 🙂

