Finally, brethren, whatever things are true, whatever things are noble, whatever things are just, whatever things are pure, whatever things are lovely, whatever things are of good report, if there is any virtue and if there is anything praiseworthy—meditate on these things. Philippians 4:8 NKJV

We serve such a jealous God. He wants our time, our attention, all of us – everything we have to offer. And He’s been dealing with me over the last couple of days that I’ve been drifting away, and letting my thoughts run away from me, thinking, dwelling, meditating on “things” that are not Him, and are not of Him.

I love when God is trying to get my attention. (Most of the time, at least) It feels like a gentle ‘tap, tap, tap’ in my spirit. Like a parent gently, calmly, lovingly saying to a child, “We both know what you’re doing isn’t right. Are you going to continue, or are you going to heed my warning and stop doing what you know is wrong?”

I admit, it’s not easy to change my ways, to say “I’m sorry, God, please forgive me, please help me to stop doing this.” But when I stop to think just how much He loves ME, what He did for ME, it’s a teeny bit easier. And when I let myself remember when God literally brought me to my knees in tears with the knowledge that the pain and heartache I was feeling was but a drop in the bucket to what He feels when we cheat on Him with the world and its things – it’s a lot easier because I don’t want to be responsible for bringing that pain and heartache to anybody, especially not my Heavenly Father, who loves me, cares about me, and just wants to be with me.

…for you shall worship no other god, for the LORD, whose name is Jealous, is a jealous God – Exodus 34:14 NJKV

