Boycott Pepsi. I’m sure that’s not what you thought I was going to say, but right now, that ‘s one of the best ways I can think of to serve the Lord.

See, one of my very good friends (0k, I’m better friends with his wife, but they are a sweet, precious Christian family, with two beautiful daughters and a little boy) stood up for what he believed in, because he wanted to serve the Lord. As a manager, he was told by Pepsi that it was time for one of their (I don’t know how often) Coming Out events, where any employee who wishes is encouraged to “come out of the closest,” and it was his job to promote this event. (Did you know Pepsi was a big supporter of Gay Rights? I didn’t know that….) Anyway, after much praying, talking with the pastor, and scripture gathering, he went to his boss and said “No.” And backed it up with scripture. And not quite a week later, he was pulled into a closed door meeting with some big wigs. Long story short (and because I don’t know all the finicky little details), he’s been fired.

I will no longer spend money on Pepsi products (not that I did much – bigger Coke fan, but every now and again I’d get a hankering for a Mountain Dew), nor will I knowingly let a Pepsi product past my lips. Am I upset that my friend – who’s done his best for this company for YEARS – was fired? Yes. Is that why I’m doing this? Partially. The bigger reason is so that there’s that much LESS money going to Pepsi for them to have that much LESS money to put towards Gay Rights promotions. And me as one person, I know that doesn’t do much, but a whole lot of people would do a whole lot. (Please, Dear God, don’t let Coke be a Gay Rights supporter, too. But if they are, I know you’ll give me the strength to totally give that up, too. Thank you for homemade ginger ale and homemade root beer, for which I’ve yet to find a recipe.)

14 “Now therefore, fear the LORD, serve Him in sincerity and in truth, and put away the gods which your fathers served on the other side of the River and in Egypt. Serve the LORD! 15 And if it seems evil to you to serve the LORD, choose for yourselves this day whom you will serve, whether the gods which your fathers served that were on the other side of the River, or the gods of the Amorites, in whose land you dwell. But as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD.
16 So the people answered and said: “Far be it from us that we should forsake the LORD to serve other gods; 17 for the LORD our God is He who brought us and our fathers up out of the land of Egypt, from the house of bondage, who did those great signs in our sight, and preserved us in all the way that we went and among all the people through whom we passed. 18 And the LORD drove out from before us all the people, including the Amorites who dwelt in the land. We also will serve the LORD, for He is our God.” Joshua 24: 14-18 NKJV – emphasis mine
