I hate when I can’t sleep. I was exhausted, I get up from the recliner doing computer-y/facebook-y things, I fix the coffee pot for in the morning (I’d love a french press – Christmas present idea, anybody, hint, hint), take my shower, and proceed to lay in the bed tossing and turning from 11-12:30 before I decide to get up and get some of the thoughts OUT of my head and ONTO the computer screen, in hopes that MAYBE they’ll shut up and let me sleep.

So I just posted one blog on what’s been running around in my head (read previous entry), now for a dreaming entry for a few years down the road. πŸ˜‰ I’ve been saying that I want goats for dairy and some meat, chickens for eggs and meat, and most likely rabbits for meat and tanning hides. And then I come across this website: American Livestock Breeds Conservancy. I’m sure by know you’re familiar with the whole hybrid/heritage plant seed thing – well, this is pretty much the same thing, but with animals instead of plants! And most of the breeds are endangered, and it lets you know the breeds unique to North America, and which are feral (or at least started that way).

I have decided, I want the Cubalaya chicken! They just look cool πŸ™‚ And they’re supposedly very tame, too, and good layers of not-white eggs. (Mama doesn’t want white eggs b/c it’s easier to pick the shell out if it’s brown – and she makes a VERY good point I’ve discovered in the 18 months I’ve lived here.)

Rabbits – It’s gonna be the Silver Fox Rabbit for my homestead. Love that silver/black fur! (The white bunnies with the pink “lab rat” eyes just creep me out *shudder*)

Based on the list, I still haven’t decided on a goat breed, although the Tennessee Fainting Goat does just sound nifty, but not what I need if my primary goal is milk. Maybe the arapawa goat, but it doesn’t say if it’s a good milker or not, although I’d hazard a guess it might be since it was the goats colonists brought over. I also keep coming back to the Nigerian Dwarf Goat, because they’re cool looking, and small, and most likely not to have horns(!), but there’s also the fact of – the smaller the goat, the smaller the teat, which means the smaller surface available to figure out how to milk. But lots of people do it; why couldn’t I?

I had also not been thinking pigs AT ALL (I do like my bacon and pulled pork, though), until I saw the handsome face of the Guinea Hog, also known as the Pineywoods Guinea, Acorn Eater, and Yard Pig – well gee, we live in pine country, surrounded by oak trees, and in further reading of the article, wanna know why they were kept in the yard? Snake patrol! THAT’S my kinda pig πŸ˜€ S/he might find a home on my homestead, after all!

And sheep is another one I hadn’t been thinking about. Doesn’t it just get too stinkin’ hot down here in south/central GA for sheep? Apparently not for the Gulf Coast Native Sheep. They don’t grow wool on their face, legs, and bellies, and are resistant to some other stuff that other sheep breeds aren’t down here in the deep humid south. And since I like to crochet, and that takes yarn, and yarn can be made from wool…. Maybe. I could also achieve similar results with good ol’ “southern snow” – aka “the touch, the feel, of cotton. The fabric of our lives” (must be sung in your head with the smooth sultry tones of Aaron Neville…. ;-))

And I know I’d been thinking goats instead of cows. More goats in the same amount of land, the milk is supposedly better for us, goats are SMALLER and weigh less, but isn’t the Red Poll Cow pretty? And I’ll save you a trip to Google – poll means “no horns.” (you’re welcome :-)) And they’re red, too! (Have you figured out a theme here yet – color, I like color!)

And even though it’s something I hadn’t consciously thought about, I do want ducks and geese. (We’ve got plenty of wild turkeys, they hide in the pine trees and gobble at me early in the morning.) I like the Cotton Patch Goose breed, especially if I decide to do the aforementioned, ahem, cotton patch. But for another reason, too. When I was in high school, our church youth group performed a musical called “The Cotton Patch Gospel.” (Gimme a shout out if you’ve heard of it….) It’s essentially the life of Christ, set in rural GA. The writers were pretty accurate, and figured out the correct distances between all the biblical cities, and transferred that over to GA cities – a lot of it takes place in Gainsville, GA. And instead of being crucified, Jesus is strung up by a lynch mob. Now back to our regular scheduled blog πŸ˜‰

Ducks – I know I want ducks, but just haven’t picked one yet. There’s not a breed that “speaks to me” like in the other animal categories. I mean, what’s a pond without ducks?

And a donkey, I know I want a donkey for guard purposes (you can thank my sister for putting this thought in my head).

And in addition to all the yard cats (I know, I know, I still haven’t posted obligatory cute cat pix – I’ll get there), I want 2 house cats once I have a house of my own πŸ˜‰

And I think that’s it, but I’m not really sure, b/c FINALLY I’m yawning good and having problems keeping my eyes open. So hopefully I can go lay down again and actually go to sleep this time.

