So in an effort to combat my current gloomy mood, I’m going to proceed to relive my wonderful Sunday for you, as promised last night.

It began yesterday morning. As I woke up, the chorus from the hymn “In the Garden” was running through my head:

And He walked with me, and He talked with me, and He tells me I am His own….

I told Mama as we were getting ready, that part of me was looking forward to going to church, and part of me was dreading it, because I knew what the choir special was going to be – a beautiful song called “The Welcome Table.” I haven’t yet fully returned to choir practice every week because of my back, but the one time I practiced this one, I bawled like a baby – why? Because Daddy would’ve loved it, and he’s already there! So I pretty much knew I was going to be crying my eyes out during the choir special.

What I didn’t expect was a morning full of wonderful worship, spent crying during the entire song service. (Did I mention I go to a Southern Baptist church? Not what you expect to hear from a Baptist, is it ;-)) I made sure to tell our choir director I wouldn’t be singing with the choir because of the aforementioned reason. So as I’m sitting in the congregation, and she announces the first hymn, I couldn’t have been more floored (why am I so surprised when God blesses me so?) when she said “Turn to hymn 476, In The Garden.” I managed to sing “I come to the garden alone” before I just gave up, lifted my hand in the air, and worshiped through tears 🙂

In the Garden

words and music by C. Austin Miles

verse 1: I come to the garden alone, While the dew is still on the roses; And the voice I hear, falling on my ear, The Son of God discloses.

Chorus: And He walks with me, and He talks with me, And He tells me I am His own, And the joy we share as we tarry there None other has ever known.

verse 2: He speaks, and the sound of His voice Is so sweet the birds hush their singing; And the melody that He gave to me Within my hear is ringing.

verse 3: I’d stay in the garden with Him Though the night around me be falling; But He bids me go, through the voice of woe, His voice to me is calling.

God bless!

