I’m so excited! Tonight, we are eating (translation: I am cooking, but when I’m in the mood to do it, I love it!) venison cube steak, homemade mashed potatoes, country gravy (made from a packet – anybody got a good recipe?), steamed broccoli, and rolls.

Wa-hoo! I get to break out the oil and fry something! My sister lovingly calls me the “queen of the deep fryer,” but I had to put that away when I moved back in with Mama and Daddy – heart problems, diabetes, etc. And now that I’ve adjusted to frying foods on a rare occasion instead of at least once a week, I appreciate them even more, and my body likes me better, too 😉

We don’t have buttermilk though, so I’m going to try mixing some yogurt (plain, not vanilla – I promise, plain) with some milk or 1/2 and 1/2, and see how that does for soaking/dredging the steaks in. I’ll let ya know.

Also, I might SAY mashed potatoes, but my intent is uber-creamy mashed-to-within-an-inch-of-their-lives potatoes; I hesitate to say whipped, because I don’t use a mixer, just a potato masher. And I don’t use milk. I’ve often said my middle name should be “Paula Deen” *sly, sneaky grin* I will use a WHOLE, ENTIRE stick of butter, and approx 8 -12 oz of sour cream to achieve my desired creaminess level.  (I really want a goat, just this meal we’re going through all kinds of dairy!)

But seriously, anybody got a good recipe for that country gravy?

Now, to go get started on it. I might be mean, inducing jealousy nice and share pictures later 😀

